Help Understanding Cascading Shift Registers

I'm new to using shift registers so i've been doing some bread boarding to help find out how they work. I've got four 74HC595 shift registers cascaded together with LEDs on all the outputs.

I'm struggling with how the code works, I understand the data has to be separated (some how??) to spread it across the 4 shift registers.

I'm currently using some ultra simple code to count upwards in binary, the only issue is that the 4 shift registers all trigger simultaneously - so each register is displaying 8bits of binary at the same time, as apposed to them all working together to give me 32bits

here's the code so far, cheers -

int latchPin = 8;
int clockPin = 12;
int dataPin = 11;

int numberToDisplay = 0;

void setup() 
  {
  pinMode(latchPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(clockPin, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(dataPin, OUTPUT);
  }

void loop() 
    {
        digitalWrite(latchPin, LOW);
        // shift out the bits:
        shiftOut(dataPin, clockPin, MSBFIRST, numberToDisplay);  
        //take the latch pin high so the LEDs will light up:
        digitalWrite(latchPin, HIGH);
        // pause before next value:
        delay(100);
        numberToDisplay = (numberToDisplay + 1);
    }

How are things wired up? Have you seen: http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ShiftOut ? Which has a sample schematic and example code.

Yeah - I've used the tutorial page to get the wiring plan, they're wired up exactly the same, except for the extra shift registers. I've used pin 9 to cascade them together as shown in the shiftOut tutorial.

I've also used the code in the tutorial too, but because I'm trying to use 4 shift registers there's a few things I need to add.

I think the issue is to do with breaking the data up into separate bytes so the registers can work together.

Thanks for the reply. :)