help understanding code for nRF24L01+

Hello,
I'm planning on using nRF24L01+ chips to make a sensor network with Arduino Uno's. Basically, sensor units w/ temperature sensors and nRF24L01 chip. A single receiver unit, also using nRF24L01, will receive sensor data from several sensor units. Eventually, I'd like to put an ethernet shield on the receiver unit to serve out HTML webpage with all the sensor data.

I'm still learning about the nRF24L01, so here's some questions.

1. Which driver?
    I've found two sets of drivers. One is from maniacbug on github, who has posted in this forum before. The other one is the Arduino.cc web site

http://maniacbug.github.io/RF24/index.html
http://playground.arduino.cc/InterfacingWithHardware/Nrf2401

And a very basic question: these operate on wifi bands, but they don't seem to implement TCP/IP like a normal computer does. That is, you can use these modules on Arduinos to send bytes to each other, but there's no mechanism for connecting to a central access point, right?

1. Extending range: There seems to be two version of the Nrf2401+. One has an external antenna and amplifier. The other one is cheaper, and it just uses an squiggly antenna that's part of the board trace. I read that you can extend the range of cheaper units by dremeling off the squiggly antenna trace and soldering in a four inch wire to act as a bigger antenna. Has anyone tried this? Is it a good idea?

I have a third question, but it's so long I'm going to set it aside on the reply to this post. Thanks for reading and for any help.

1. Powering the unit: I've read that powering the nRf24L01+ using the onboard 3.3V on the Uno is kind of flaky. It needs more current than the 3.3V regulator on the Uno could supply. Has anyone experienced this? Is that true with the R3 Uno?

EDIT: uh oh, I've been using nRF24L01 and nRF24L01+ interchangeably, but I wonder if the Arduino.cc driver is for an older nRF24L01 chip, NOT for the nRF24L01+ chip?