help using pin 3 for sensor reading- multiple sensors

I want to keep this thread pointed to the subject so others can learn too. I want to have multiple sensors on a mega 2560. By multiple I mean flow sensors in this immediate issue, but in the future add temp and water temp, humidity and so on. I am using someone else code for a single sensor and it is working well. I am having an issue getting the second to work also. I verified the code but it doesn't spit out the data for sensor 2. I did verify that the MEGA uses pins 2,3,18,19 for sensors.

I doubled up the code which made sense to me but while I have one working the second shows the print function but no data leading me to believe it is pin three that I haven't activated to work with the sensor via code. I am brand new to coding and I believe that is the most important part of Arduino. so teach me please! Please, don't tell me what i am doing wrong without an explanation of how to fix it and why it is wrong- remember we want to learn not simply follow someone else instructions. :)

The question is: how do I make the 2nd sensor work off analog pin 3 (analog since it is data not an on/off sensor). Or more practically put- how do I enable multiple sensors to show what it is sensing?

Heres the code: /* Liquid flow rate sensor -DIYhacking.com Arvind Sanjeev

Measure the liquid/water flow rate using this code. Connect Vcc and Gnd of sensor to arduino, and the signal line to arduino digital pin 2.

Expanding to measure two or more sensors by Artemas with help from the Arduino family

*/

byte statusLed = 13;

byte sensorInterrupt = 0; // 0 = digital pin 2 byte sensorPin = 2; // The hall-effect flow sensor outputs approximately 4.5 pulses per second per // litre/minute of flow. float calibrationFactor = 4.5; volatile byte pulseCount; float flowRate; unsigned int flowMilliLitres; unsigned long totalMilliLitres; unsigned long oldTime;