HELP .. What board is the best for my telescope project?

Hello,

I'm very new at this and need some guidance. I want to purchase an Arduino board that can do the following. I need a constant out put of 218hz ..when I push a momentary button it changes to 430hz when I release the button it reverts back to 218hz .. ect ..I have 6 buttons and when each button is pushed the hz changes . I'm trying to change a broken telescope timer board that controls the stepper drive..

The original board was a home made board from about 15 years ago using a 555 chip and a bunch of diodes and resisters and caps .. I want to upgrade to something more stable and off the shelf..

Like I said I'm new at this .. but I've done some programing for relay control software in VB6.. I don't want to purchase something that wont work.. any help would be most appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Tim

Uno will do that just fine. Use it for development, than program a Promini with the coded for installation into your project.
Look at my post "piano tones micros" for generating the frequencies using "blink without delay" style code and reading pushbuttons to output frequencies whose periods (half-period actually if I recall) are stored in an array.
It's for 13 buttons, just trim it down to 6 buttons for your needs.

Thank you so much for the info.. I really appreciate it..

Is there any reason not to use the Arduino to control the stepper motors directly rather than just mimicing a 555 timer ?

...R
Stepper motor basics

Hi.

I'm not sure how using an Arduino is going to be any more "off the shelf" than your old 555 timer circuit. But in terms of being "stable", do you mean that the output frequency is more accurate compared to the desired frequency and less affected by temperate, presence of nearby objects etc?