Help ! which arduino should I choose?

I have this school project were I have to create a wall of 50 speakers by using arduino... And I have no experience of using arduino or speakers or anything, so I was just wondering which arduino should I choose? And what else do I need ? Any Ideas ? :) :) :) The Idea of the project is that I should be able to controll the speakers and to be able to choose the speakers that I wanna use and form "shapes" with them.. I would be really thankful if anyone can help me with this or give any ideas or anything !

Thank you!

We need more information. I always thought speakers made noise rather than shapes.

...R

I know it sounds weird but there is a purpose for this :) anyway the problem is that we have to find a way to controll 50 speakers individually at the same time. The speakers will play the same sound, something very simple. And we will propably start by using only one arduino and 5 speakers and if we get it work we will try to do it with 50 speakers . But we are so beginners in thid area that we dont know what arduino should we choose and what other equipments we need etc.. so if anyone has any ideas I would be very happy to hear it! :)

Do you have an amplifier for each speaker?

I don't know should I get it ? we use speakers that are 0.25 W and 8 ohms.

Arduino can't drive an 8 ohm speaker directly - that overloads the output pin. You would need at least a 220 ohm resistor in series to keep the current from exceeding 20mA, which makes for a very faint output, just a few milliwatt. To get 0.25W from the 8 ohm speaker, you need more current. Power (watts) = I*I*R, so Sqrt (P/R) = I = Sqrt (0.25/8) = 175mA for max volume. If all 50 are playing at max volume, then you can see the current starts to add up.