Help with 4wd rc car

I’m new to arduino and am trying to make an RC car with mecanum wheels, I have each wheel attached to a DC motor using the tamiya twin motor gearbox kit (http://www.pololu.com/product/61) and if I just wire them directly to a battery (9v) it works fine, but when I attach it via the arduino uno and the adafruit motorshield, it just budges a little (wheels completely off the ground floating so the only resistance is the weight of the wheels), if I attach an external power to it via the “ext power” ports on the motorshield, I still only just budge off of the 9v battery, so I decided to up it to a higher power source, a battery to my dewalt drill, 18v (I have no idea about milliamp hours or even what milliamp hours even means regarding this, but with the 18v battery it still only JUST moves when it’s on the ground, and I know this must be bad for the arduino/motorshield/everything, but I was really curious. Why can’t I get this thing rolling?

Are you running it from the Arduino power port or the EXT port? Also what does your code look like?

I have the power running from a 9v battery into to the power on the arduino (the barrel plug or whatever it’s appropriate name is) and then I’ve been plugging in other power sources to the EXT port on the shield. The code is very preliminary as I just wanted to test out that everything worked before I started trying to figure other things out. Also, is it damaging the equipment if I use my 18v battery through the shield? I ordered a 9.6v battery (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001BA292A/ref=oh_details_o00_s01_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1) that I’d like to run the dc’s off of, I assume that the 9.6v wouldn’t damage anything and should run everything fine right?

#include <AFMotor.h>

AF_DCMotor motor1(1); //creates motor 1
AF_DCMotor motor2(2);
AF_DCMotor motor3(3);
AF_DCMotor motor4(4);
void setup()
{
  motor1.setSpeed(1000); //originally I had this set at 255 because I thought that was the max, but then I saw