Help with a wheelchair project

Hello Guys, I am designing a wheelchair conversion kit, so I'm using two gearmotors with a chain drive system. Anyways, I am not an expert with controlling system so I need help with major stuff. I found this motor controller that works with my motors: http://robot-solutions.com/RS3/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=50

So, with this controller I only need to connect the motors and interface the controller with a joystick right? To do so, what other parts should I consider and buy? I mean how can I control the wheelchair with a joystick if I only have two gearmotors and this motor controller.

Thanks in advance

When you attach each motor to a wheel, you can drive forward (both motors fwd), back (both motors back), curve (only one motor on), or turn in place (motors in opposite direction).

The choice of the joystick affects the movement comfort. With a digital joystick you only can move at a single speed, and stop abruptly, while an analog joystick will allow for continuous speed control. A rotatable joystick (3 axes) will also allow to turn the chair in place, in addition to driving curves.

The below discussion might be of interest.

http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php/topic,157967.0.html

DrDiettrich: When you attach each motor to a wheel, you can drive forward (both motors fwd), back (both motors back), curve (only one motor on), or turn in place (motors in opposite direction).

The choice of the joystick affects the movement comfort. With a digital joystick you only can move at a single speed, and stop abruptly, while an analog joystick will allow for continuous speed control. A rotatable joystick (3 axes) will also allow to turn the chair in place, in addition to driving curves.

Thanks for your reply. Do you mean I should consider buying an analog or rotatable joystick? and just interface it with the motor controller?

zoomkat: The below discussion might be of interest.