Help with AccelStepper

Help with AccelStepper

Hello,
Because I am a newbie with that library, how I can make the motor to run forever?
With the code that I have, the motor stop when it reach the pos.

#include <AccelStepper.h>

AccelStepper stepper(1, 9, 8);

int pos = 100000;

void setup(){
  stepper.setMaxSpeed(2000);
  stepper.setAcceleration(400);
}

void loop(){
  stepper.run();
  stepper.moveTo(pos);
}

And if i remove stepper.moveTo(pos); it doesn’t move.
Any help?

Thank you.

What do you think moveTo(10000) means? What do you think run() does?

What is going to happen when the stepper has done stepping 10,000 times?

A stepper is not intended to run continuously. It is intended to take a discrete number of steps. You change to number of steps when it completes the number you told it to take last time.

PaulS:
What do you think moveTo(10000) means? What do you think run() does?

What is going to happen when the stepper has done stepping 10,000 times?

A stepper is not intended to run continuously. It is intended to take a discrete number of steps. You change to number of steps when it completes the number you told it to take last time.

No you don't understand,
I want to change the code so the motor run forever.
But when I remove stepper.moveTo(pos); line it's doesn't run.

Maybe I missed some lines of code, but I don't know the library that's why I need help

No you don't understand,

Yes, I do. It's you that don't understand.

moveTo() is like saying "Go stand on the red square". run() is saying "Take on step, unless you are standing on the red square".

Now, what is going to happen when I'm standing on the red square? You can keep yelling "Run, damn it", until you keel over with a heart attack, and I'm not going to move a step BECAUSE I AM ALREADY THERE.

Once I get to the red square, I stay there, until you say "Now, go to the blue square" and call run().

PaulS:

No you don't understand,

Yes, I do. It's you that don't understand.