Help with ACS712 DC Current sensor.

Hello. I am completely new to Arduino, but do have some experience with electronic controls, steppers, etc.
I want create a device which will monitor current draw of a 12V geared DC motor, and reverse polarity when a certain threshold is crossed. It seems like the simplest thing would be to use a mechanical DPDT relay which is controlled by the Arduino board. In one state, the board would keep the relay closed, until the current measured by the ACS712 reaches a threshold of around 1 Amp, and the board would stop power to the relay, reversing the motor. The state would be reversed on the other end of the cycle by a mechanical limit switch. I have read a few tutorials on the ACS712, but none have gone into using it as a current sensing A/B switch.
Advice?

You are thinking of hooking them together. Don't.

What you want to do is a project, not an application. Manufacturers only cover applications not projects. The arduino combines applications into projects. The Arduino will be in charge of reading the current and controlling the motor.

The control of the motor will require two relays, one for power and one DPDT setup to control/reverse direction.

Connect the the ACS712 to the analog input. Use the analogRead to get the current, then use an if statement of the current reading to detect the current limit and stop and/or switch directions. If you do not stop the motor before reversing direction, you are going to see huge current readings as the magnetic field collapses and the motor reverses direction.

I don't quite understand your first two sentences, but yes. This is a project. No warranty expected.