Help with an idea (doorbell problem)

Hey, I have been programming for 6 years now and am pretty advanced, but I only used an Arduino one time, and am not very confident in my hardware and wiring abilities.

I live in a student shared apartment, and we have a doorbell that rings when someone presses either the button in the entrance (2 floors down) or the one on our door. The problem is, the doorbell is very quiet, and we don’t hear it well. I thought it was a fun idea to make some sort of program to solve this problem.

I was thinking of some way in which the Arduino can recognize the sound of the doorbell, and when it does (ergo the doorbell rings), it should send a notification to a self-made app on our phone. (Let me take care of the app :stuck_out_tongue: )

How can I build such a contraption (what hardware do I need) and is there an easier method to solving this problem?

Thank you for your help/suggestions!

Have you considered replacing the doorbell by a more noisy one? :slightly_smiling_face:

Best Regards,
Johi.

That would be the boring solution :nerd_face:

An actual great way to get into ML with a 32bit MCU.

There is a Arduino, I think its a Nano 32 something or another with a built in sound sensor. I use ESP32’s and would have to add in a sound module for such a project.

With ML, machine learning, you would create a project that would record in digital, the sound of the doorbell.

Once you got the data model of your doorbell sound it will be a choice of either TensorFlow Lite or Linear Regression, The Nano 32 or a ESP32 can do 32 and 64 bit floating point linear regression. Now, when the sounds come in on the mic, the sound stream can be compared against the trained model and “that a doorbell”.

Such a project will teach you a lot.

1 Like

Amazing, thanks.

I am actually really interested in ML and would love to get into it. I will look into it!