Help with an idea for 1st Arduino project

Hello, I am new to Arduino, I know them and what they are but have never made one.
I would like to make a battery monitor and remote starter.
The project would monitor a secondary battery in my vehicle, if the battery gets below a certain point it will trigger the motor to start and recharge the battery. Once the battery is charged to a certain point, the motor would be stopped. I'm converting my van into a mini camper and would use this to keep my "house" battery charged either at night or when solar energy is low or unavailable.
There are three wires for the car that would need to be connected, ignition, starter, and tachometer.
A low voltage situation would have to close the ignition circuit, then close the starter circuit until a signal is received from the tachometer. Once the signal is received the starter circuit is opened again.
Once the battery has reached the desired voltage, the ignition circuit will open stopping the engine.
The opening and closing of circuits should be able to be done easily with relays, but are the desired actions possible?
Thank you Arduino community!

Have you identified the exact "three wires" and have you found where you can access them?

Paul

That sounds possible... But, I'm not sure how you measure charge-state while the battery is charging. (My plug-in battery charger does it somehow.) You'll also have to figure-out how to detect the tachometer.

The Arduino can't handle voltages higher than 5V so you'll need a voltage divider (2 resistors) to measure battery voltage. The tachometer signal might be 12V too so you'll either need a voltage divider or an over-voltage protection circuit (which can be made with a resistor and diode).

As with any project, just take it one step at a time... Maybe start with the inputs (battery charge/voltage & tachometer).