HELP with Arduino and Parallax MMA7455

Hello,

I would like to first make out that I am not very experienced with the Arduino platform nor am I very experienced with electronics but I am a competent learner. My problem is that I am having trouble understanding how to use the Arduino board with the Parallax MMA7455 Accelerometer. Has anybody else tried to use this with the Arduino. If so your help will be most appreciated.

Thank You
Tomas

I've looked at the datasheet for the MMA7455, and it is quite a complex device.

Have you ever used I2C or SPI interfaces?

There are libraries to talk to I2C or SPI, but there is quite a lot to understand about the MMA7455.

Have far have you got?

GB

If you haven't already done so, you should carefully read the Parallax documentation:

http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/prod/sens/28526-MMA7455-3axisAccel-v1.1.pdf

There's some important stuff there about how to hook the thing up, and how to read the device output. You will separately need to read the datasheet to understand how the registers work. For example, the mode control register ($16) will need to be set to the measurement mode and g-level. Notice that it defaults to +/-8G, and standby mode (that is, all 0 for the 4 LSB). If you want +/-2G (for example), and measurement mode, you'd have to set the lower four bits to

so the register would have to contain $x9 (where x represents the upper four bits, which determine the SPI mode and whether or not a value is sent out an interrupt line: you can probably leave those bits all 0, so you'd have reg $16 contain $09).

The I2C or SPI Arduino library you use should show you how to output values to registers, and how to read registers on the MMA.

Thanks a lot. This will be a great help. ;D