Help with arduino project that uses a keypad

Hey everyone this is my first post on this forum. I recently purchased an arduino uno and im still learning. Currently working on the following project:

Breadboard Layout | Arduino Lesson 13. DC Motors | Adafruit Learning System.

Basically the pwm signal to one of the pins is altered between 0-255 which in turn changes the voltage,thus reducing or increasing the speed of the motor.So my question is if there is a way to use a hex keypad (4x4) to enter the speed in the serial monitor remotely rather than always having a computer connected to the uno and changing the speed from there.

Im also using an LCD to display the speed entered.

These are the keypads i have available :

https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B015E32IXY/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o07_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00F167UY2/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o05_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

The code looks like this

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
    LiquidCrystal lcd(8, 9, 4, 5, 6, 7);
    int motorPin = 3;

void setup() 
    { 
      lcd.begin(16, 2);
      pinMode(motorPin, OUTPUT);
      Serial.begin(9600);
      while (! Serial);
      Serial.println("Speed 0 to 255");
    } 

void loop() 
    { 

if (Serial.available())
      {
        delay(100);
        lcd.clear();
        int speed = Serial.parseInt();
        if (speed >= 0 && speed <= 255)
        {
          analogWrite(motorPin, speed);
          lcd.print("The Speed is");
          lcd.print(" ");
          lcd.print(speed);
        }
      }
    }

Any articles that you know of or examples will be greatly appreciated.
Thank you for your time and efforts

Do you own any of those two keypads to do testing? Have you looked for Keypad + Arduino yet, because there is a nice keypad library you can play with and it also comes with examples.

Let me know what you find.

Ill look at those libraries thanks for the help :slight_smile:

eddelweiss:
Ill look at those libraries thanks for the help :slight_smile: