Help with audio common mode rejection circuit

Hi all,

I am making an audio amplification circuit for a violin pickup and I was wondering if my circuit could get a look see before I start building it. I have limited knowledge in CMRR and I couldn’t figure out what the best pre-amplification opamp to use, but with the searching and research I could do I attempted to build and test a circuit in Spice before I started wasting money and patience.

The general design parameters:

• audio input is from a pvdf piezo film type transducer hence the input stage
  • single positive voltage source
  • output to arduino due adc pin at 3.3v
  • no restriction on power consumption

Below I have attached a photo of the circuit, if you spot anything peculiar or an optimization that I haven’t performed, please let me know! :slight_smile: Thank you for your time.

Interesting. Why must it be differential?

Edit - seeing how this might be going... piezo transducers work perfectly well single ended. The preamp circuit for that will have about four times fewer components. It will also be easier to design for a single supply.

I think you can do all of this with a single op-amp stage. Or maybe two... i.e. You can make a differential amplifier with gain and offset, and some filtering too.

If you are using a standard piezo pickup, all of them I've seen are single ended (one signal wire and a ground). So if you are using a commercial pickup, you'll probably have to re-wire it for a balanced connection. The cable shield can be left open at the pickup and grounded at the amplifier end.