Help with 'aware' thermostat

Since I have no electronics experience and no C programming experience I was hoping someone would walk me through project design and debug. My programming experience is limited to heavy bash and expect languages.

Design goals:
Screen with navigation buttons
Hard coded 7 day set temps as variables in the program source
Hard coded variable in program to define manual override minutes/hours (2hr default)
*External wireless outdoor temperature probe to determine heat or cool mode.
*Set points for hot/cold
Variable to allow float set temps eg 3 degrees for more efficiency.

The idea on a 95 degree day if night temps drop into the 30s or 40s the thermostat is smart enough to switch to heat mode and maintain the low set temp and daytime high set temp and if manually adjusted set a countdown timer for two hours to return to the program routine temps.

I found someones project and would like to build on it - AvBrand.com - Projects - Thermostat

Remote wireless interfacing would be nice to have or add down the road when full home automation comes into play.

Ultimately I would like to have low and high target temps and set the internal temp relative to the outside temp. So a 99 degree day should only attempt to cool to 79deg versus 84 deg day we could push 74 inside.

I could do this easily in bash with a serial port and Dallas one wire temp sensor so this should be fairly easy. Can anyone help put this together?