Help with basic drum sequencer - saving and looping MIDI in real time

Hi all!

Frustrated Arduino newbie here who may have bit off more than I can chew for a starter project, and I'm hoping you guru's can point me in the right direction.

My goal is to create a stand alone MIDI drum sequencer, capable of creating, storing, and sending MIDI drum patterns. I know this has been discussed ad nauseam, but everything I've come across is either way too advanced for my level, or includes so many variations of the idea that I'm struggling to square their concept with my own.

Ideally I would like to create a drum sequencer like this fellow has done here, but admittedly that's a ways off.

For now, I'm just trying to figure out how to capture a simple pattern of say 1 note over maybe 8 steps, and loop it.

Thus far I've created a MIDI controller using the Notes and Volts tutorial here, and am able to send my MIDI notes to a second Ardinuo Uno using his MIDI input tutorial.

I've done some simple modifications to the Notes and Volts tutorials, like adding LEDs to the MIDI IN, and am able to see my hard coded MIDI OUT notes using MIDI-OX (run through a MIDI in-out interface connected to my PC).

In this setup I've essentially created a real-time MIDI controller - but I want the buttons (notes) I press on the MIDI OUT Arduino to be recorded and looped. Eventually I'd add LEDs to the buttons to signify tempo, pots for velocity and temo control, etc.. But for now, I'd just like to see a loop captured and repeated from the buttons on my breadboard :confused:

Over the past several weeks I've come to the realization that there is a significant difference between just sending a MIDI note (i.e., MIDI controller), and capturing, saving and looping MIDI notes in real-time. But I'm at a loss as to where to start learning... :frowning: