Help with basic programming

Hi,

So I'm an Arduino hobbyist - I've no experience in programming outside of this. I set up a circuit with a vibration motor, the idea is I want it perform a loop procedure once the push button is pressed and then stop once the button is pressed again.

Looking around the internet I've copied and altered some code out there but I can't seem to get it exactly right. The code below just gets the motor to do 3 loops before stopping and pressing the button again during the loop doesn't do anything.

Any pointers would be awesome as I've not managed to get any headway in a while.

Cheers

const int buttonPin = 2;     
const int motorPin =  3;      

// Variables will change:
int motorState = LOW;         
int buttonState;             
int lastButtonState = LOW;   
long lastDebounceTime = 0;  
long debounceDelay = 1;    

void setup() {
  pinMode(buttonPin, INPUT);
  pinMode(motorPin, OUTPUT);
    Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
  int buttonState = digitalRead(buttonPin);

if (buttonState != lastButtonState) {

lastDebounceTime = millis();

if (buttonState == HIGH) {
      motorState = !motorState;
      }
      do{
      digitalWrite(motorPin, HIGH);
      delay(1000);
      digitalWrite(motorPin, LOW);
      delay(1000);
      //digitalRead(buttonState);
    } 
    while (motorState = !motorState);
  } 

if ((millis() - lastDebounceTime) > debounceDelay) {

buttonState = buttonState;
  }
  digitalWrite(motorPin, motorState); 
  lastButtonState = buttonState;
}
while (motorState = !motorState);

Is a total nonsense.
First of all you must use a double = for a logic comparison. Then a thing can never be equal to the inverse of itself. Finally there is nothing that will make the states in the while conditional change so it is either ignored or hangs the program.

Try and read code by playing at being a processor and going through the statements one by one.

The code below just gets the motor to do 3 loops

What do you mean by “loops”?