Help with buffers and CAN bus

Hello,
I am struggling with a CAN Bus project. I am not a programmer so struggling a little.
I am using and Arduino MCP2515 CAN bus module. I was using the the Canbus.h library but to support the MCP2515 with 8Mhz crystal I am now using the mcp_can.h library.
When a CAN message is received it is written into a buffer then printed using a loop, the code is below.

If I want to do within with the buffer data rather than just print it how do I write it to a string so I can use an if statement to trigger something?
This is my starting sketch

// Original author - omarCartera

#include <SPI.h>          //SPI is used to talk to the CAN Controller
#include <mcp_can.h>

MCP_CAN CAN(10);          //set SPI Chip Select to pin 10

unsigned char len = 0;
unsigned char buf[8];
unsigned int canID;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(115200);   //to communicate with Serial monitor

//tries to initialize, if failed --> it will loop here for ever
START_INIT:

if(CAN_OK == CAN.begin(CAN_500KBPS))      //setting CAN baud rate to 500Kbps
    {
        Serial.println("CAN BUS Shield init ok!");
    }
    else
    {
        Serial.println("CAN BUS Shield init fail");
        Serial.println("Init CAN BUS Shield again");
        delay(100);
        goto START_INIT;
    }
}

void loop()
{
    if(CAN_MSGAVAIL == CAN.checkReceive())    //check if data is coming
    {
        CAN.readMsgBuf(&len, buf);    //read data,  len: data length, buf: data buffer
        canID = CAN.getCanId();       //getting the ID of the incoming message

if (canID == 0xF2)            //it will only read messages with ID = 0xF2
        {
          Serial.print("ID is: ");
          Serial.print(canID, HEX);     //printing the ID in its standard form, HEX

Serial.print("    Length is: ");
          Serial.println(len);

for(int i = 0; i<len; i++)    //looping on the incoming data to print them
          {
              Serial.write(buf[i]);     //Serial.write prints the character itself