Help with circuit

Hi All,
I have been a manual machinist all during my working day's and know nothing about circuits. I have a board (5.5.10.5). I want to put a row of 20 led's on one side and 20 on the other side. I want to be able to push on push off each one of them individually ( to my knowledge I will be using 2 9 volt batteries with no more than 3 lights, on at a time each side. I could use a separate switch for each light, but a better way, if possible, is to use one switch to control up to 6 lights. Each time you push the button a light goes on, push again that light goes off, push again, the next light goes on and etc.
Am I nuts or can something like this work. I don't even know if I'm in the right category, if not maybe some one can steer me in the right direction. Hopefully someone can help me, I've tried several other places and no answers. I'm sure you have guessed the led's are 2 to 3 volt 22ma.
Thank you for any help
Randy

Piece of cake. Just need 40 current limiting resistors and 40 switches and a panel to put it on.
To use the push to select approach you need some I/O Expander chips. You would need THREE PCF8575 chips
and the push to select code would be done in the arduino code by reading the momentary buttons and adding
a debounce delay. I am not sure how you want to wire it. If you want one button to control 6 leds, 6 doesn't
divide evenly into 40 but 5 does. Eight buttons , each controlling 5 leds each should work. The arduino has eight
inputs available for the button inputs and the selection would be done in the code. There's a tutorial here on how
the chip works. You would need 40 current limiting resistors (220 ohm, axial, 1/4 W).

What’s this for ?

Two 9V batteries won't last long, they only have 300-400mAH capacity.
I'd go with a D-cell battery pack, just need 2.

I believe these all do what you want, Push-On, then Push-Off.
Some even have LEDs built in that you could wire to go On & Off with the button press.