Help with Code and understanding.

So Like a lot of folks I am new to the world of arduino. While i understand some BASIC things about coding and have managed to make some simple projects for my Halloween props. This project I’m working on now was meant as a learning tool to try to understand more complicated stuff and I think I bit off more then I can chew.

Here is the rundown on what I am trying to do. This is basically a trophy of failure for my work. It has an LCD, LED’s, Smoke, and Sparks. The circuit board that sits on top of the box has a few LED’s on it that blink normal and the LCD displays their name and to press the button on the side. Once the button is pressed the LED’s begin blinking faster, the display starts blinking and the spark generator starts arcing and after a second or so the display and everything goes out and then smoke is released.

Now to me this all sounded simple till I started trying to work on the code and I’m lost now. The code I have written so far may be absolutely worthless for accomplishing this.

What it does now is the normal routine. LCD displays info and LED’s blink normally. When i press and hold the switch then the LCD goes off, the LED’s blink faster and the 2 relays turn on for the smoke and sparks. Let go of the button and everything goes back to normal.

Below is the code that i need help with. How do I get the button to stay latched for enough time to run through the rest of the routine as well as how to get the relays to come on in steps (relay 1 then half second then relay 2).

I’m still trying to understand even some of the code I have which has been cut and pasted from other code.

Thanks for any help and please excuse me if i ask a stupid question. I really want to understand this.

#include <Wire.h>
#include <LiquidCrystal_I2C.h>
LiquidCrystal_I2C lcd(0x27, 20, 4); // set the LCD address to 0x27 for a 16 chars and 2 line display

const int buttonPin = 4;     // the number of the pushbutton pin