Help with creating an array within a struct

I am implementing the Karplus-Strong algorithm in code. Instead of just making my code specific for my needs, I would really like to make it a library. In order to do so, I need to declare an array of a specific length when I call a new instance of my struct. In processing, I know I could so something like int[] yada = new int[foo]; but I don't think I am able to do such a thing in Arduino because of the way that memory is assigned. It isn't really an option to make an array that is large enough for all instances and then cut it down by assigning the shortened length to a variable MAX. The Karplus-Strong takes too much memory for that.

For those that wish to help me, my coding experience is as such: I have a lot of experience with Arduino and a little bit with Processing. I am wanting transition into actual C code without the Arduino IDE, but I am not quite that good yet. I can modify and understand raw C but I am not good enough to write it from scratch like I can in Arduino.

Help would be very appreciated!

What kind of numbers are we talking about (i.e., how many elements in the array)? You've only got 2Kbytes of RAM on an ATmega328 (and a chunk of that should be set aside for the stack) so this may all be a moot point.

In such a constrained-memory system you are right, you do not want to do dynamic memory allocation. But nor do you want to start implementing generic algorithms when a specific one is more reasonable.

-- Check out our new shield: http://www.ruggedcircuits.com/html/gadget_shield.html

int yada = new int[foo];

Unfortunately, the <new.h> library is not included in the arduino environment.

You can use the malloc() command (old-school), but it comes with a warning: This can be overwritten with stack information (or so I have been told).

The best thing to do is to reserve, say, 100 bytes, and govern your own memory allocation in that block.