Help with first project

Hi,

I'm new to developing circuits and need some help with what I need to purchase for my first circuit.

I am looking to build a board that will take 8 infra red sensors and give out 13 inputs which can switch on LED's or a circuit.

I need the board to talk to my PC and let me know which of the 8 sensors was activated.

What type of board do I need to buy and the switches that go along with it.

Thank you in advance for your help

Regards

Michael

Your description is a bit vague.

What KIND of 'infra red sensors' are you trying to use?

What do you mean by "give out 13 inputs which can switch on LED's or a circuit"? What kind of 'circuit'?

An Arduino can certainly talk to your PC and let you know which of the 8 sensors is activated.

give out 13 inputs which can switch on LED's or a circuit.

I think you mean give out 13 OUTPUTS which can switch on LED's or a circuit.

Unless you have some sort of port expander or shift register to get more outputs you will need a Mega to get that number of I/O pins.

Thank you for your reply.

I'm try and explain more what I'm doing.

I have a toy car racing track then will have eight lanes.

Each time a car will complete a lap it will break a sensor of some type. I thought the best sensor to use would be an IR sensor.

Also when the car's finish the race the power to that track needs to be switched of. (hence outputs to switch of a switch)

all of the above need to be notified to Pc for display on a computer program.

I also am going to have five lights at the start of the race to tell the drivers when to start. (outputs to LED's)

I can do the computer part of things just not sure on the circuit part but willing to learn and give it a go!

Thank you again for your help

All that is perfectly reasonable, remember pins 0 & 1 are used by the serial port so you can't use them for anything else. I would use a shift register to get more outputs. See the tutorial in the learning section for this.