Help with Game

I am a beginner at programming and using micro-controllers. As a first project, I decided to make a two player reaction game, where players compete against each other to press a button first when the GO Led flashes at a random time. However, I’m having problems with making a while loop, so that the person that hits the button first wins. Any additional help or pointers on my program would be appreciated, Cheers

//Reaction game, The game starts with the buttons flashing, then the GO button turns on at a random time, at which moment the person who hits the button first wins, ie. their LED lights up. 

int player1 = 7;//Set constants
int player2 = 8;//etc.
int GO = 6;
int Button = 9;
int Button2 = 10 ;
int PLAYER1BUTTON= 0;
int PLAYER2BUTTON = 0;
int var;
void setup ()
{
  //Set LEDs as Outputs and Buttons as Inputs
pinMode (player1, OUTPUT);
pinMode (player2, OUTPUT) ;
pinMode (GO, OUTPUT);
pinMode (Button, INPUT);
pinMode (Button2, INPUT);
}    
void loop ()//Main program

{  

randomSeed(analogRead(5));
   long timedelay = random(5000); // Sets the time delay radomly, up to 5 seconds.
   unsigned long timenow = millis();
   long timego = timenow + timedelay;
   digitalWrite (GO, HIGH);
   delay (1000);
   digitalWrite (GO, LOW);
}  

//Check the state of the button
while (var < 200)
{
 PLAYER1BUTTON = digitalRead(Button);
 PLAYER2BUTTON = digitalRead(Button2);
  var++;
  }
//If player 1 and Player 2 don't press, both Leds are off
 if (PLAYER1BUTTON == LOW && PLAYER2BUTTON == LOW) 
 {
  digitalWrite (player1, LOW);
  digitalWrite (player2, LOW);
 }
  if (PLAYER1BUTTON == HIGH && PLAYER2BUTTON == LOW)//If player 1 is faster than player 2, player 2 led lights up
  {
  digitalWrite(player1,HIGH);
  delay (2000);
  digitalWrite (player1, LOW);
  }
   if (PLAYER1BUTTON == LOW && PLAYER2BUTTON == HIGH)//If player 2 is faster than player 1, player 1 led lights up

{
  digitalWrite(player2,HIGH);
  delay (2000);
  digitalWrite(player2, LOW);
  }

}