Help with HC-12 communications and Leonardo

I am hoping you can help me find a solution to a problem using the HC12 modules on Arduino Leonardo.

I am a bit new to Arduino but want to develop a project that requires 3 modules to transfer, relatively simple, commands over 30 - 70 metres. In brief the project is an SMS controlled bush fire response system. A central control module with a GSM shield and two slave controllers operating the pump and water valves. I have the central control module working , starting a Genset, monitoring power source etc. The plan was to communicate with the two slave control modules via a 433 MHz transmission. I was not able to get enough range with a simple transmitter so I thought about trying HC-12 modules.

I choose Leonardo as the base modules for a not very compelling reason.

I am having trouble getting the HC12 transceiver to talk to the Leonardo. The Leonardo uses a hardware serial on pins 0 and 1. Other parts of my project uses Pins 2, 4, 5, 6 and 7. I choose pins 8, 9 and 11 for Tx, Rx and Set, changing the sketch accordingly. I tried the sketch on a Uno and it all worked fine. But not on the two Leonardos. I could not see any response to a simple AT command or any communication between two Leonardos.

I suspect this is a configuration problem to do with the Leonardo and its hardware serial comms. Any help in me understanding this is appreciated.

I am using the code, that I downloaded from a Lyad tutorial, below as an initial try to communicate

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
SoftwareSerial hc12(9, 8);
void setup() {
while (!Serial);
pinMode(11,OUTPUT);
digitalWrite(11,LOW); // enter AT command mode.  WP Pin 7 is used by Relay Shield move Set to Pin 11
Serial.begin(9600);
hc12.begin(9600);
hc12.print(F("AT+C001\r\n")); // set to channel 1
delay(100);
//digitalWrite(11,HIGH);// enter transparent mode
Serial.print("done setup move to Loop");
}
void loop() {
if(Serial.available()) hc12.write(Serial.read());