Help with lcd menu library/program

Hi everyone, I have been trying to find a simple and easy to use menu and library that can be easily adapted to different projects but all the ones I have found don't quite match my needs. I am a somewhat novice programmer but have taken a couple classes in c code for my mechanical engineering program.

The menu system I would like to create would have the following parameters: -16x2 Serial LCD with 4 buttons (menu,enter,up,down) -A main display that will display readings from various sensors -A menu with submenus -Being able to change parameters/variables and save to eeprom

Here is a bit of what I am trying to accomplish,

Main Menu{ -Stage 1 -Stage 2 -Display -Screen Settings } Sub menus: Stage 1{ -Start PSI -Full PSI } Stage 2{ -Start PSI -Full PSI }

etc...

Would I be able to use structs to accomplish this or how should I go about doing this?

I wrote a menu that keeps track of button bushes etc to navigate but takes up half the space on the chip which doesn't leave much for actual project code.

Any help would be appreciated and I will post the finished code/library so everyone can use it!

mitchedwards: Hi everyone, I have been trying to find a simple and easy to use menu and library that can be easily adapted to different projects but all the ones I have found don't quite match my needs. I am a somewhat novice programmer but have taken a couple classes in c code for my mechanical engineering program.

The menu system I would like to create would have the following parameters: -16x2 Serial LCD with 4 buttons (menu,enter,up,down)

As a microcontroller has no underlaid operating system like a PC, there are so many different possibilities for number of keys, type of key input, visual representation, and functions, that you'd need virtually thousands of different menu libraries to fit every need.