Help with Linux/PHP/Apache

Hello. I need some help please!!

I am running Ubuntu with PHP/Apache. I'm new to Linux and Arduino.

I have a basic PHP script where I can click ON or OFF for LEDs 1 to 4. Just something real simple that I can access from a web browser to control the Arduino.

If I run the script within the command line of Ubuntu, it works fine. When I try it over a web browser, I get errors. As far as I can tell, it seems to be a permissions problem. ie. the web server (Apache) doesn't have permissions to run some stuff). I am using the php serial class. Here is the error:

Warning: Specified serial port is not valid in /var/www/php_serial.class.php on line 112

Warning: Unable to set the baud rate : the device is either not set or opened in /var/www/php_serial.class.php on line 205

Warning: The device must be set before to be open in /var/www/php_serial.class.php on line 138

Warning: Device must be opened in /var/www/php_serial.class.php on line 542

As I said, this only happens over a browser, via the shell it works fine. Any suggestions please?? Thanks.

It's a bit hard to tell exactly what the problem is without knowing what the offending code is. Could you possibly post up some of the source?

Specifically, line 112 looks like it would be quite helpful. The other errors seem to be a result of that particular line.

Note the php serial class it is not my code - lots of people use this code for various projects involving serial ports. The code is too much to paste here. You can view it here: http://www.phpclasses.org/browse/package/3679.html

This is my code on the webserver (it’s very simple right now for testing):