Help with logging

Hey everybody

I'm brand new to arudino and I am currently writing an investigation report for a project and one part of the report asks me to calculate if there is enough writable memory on an arduino UNO board to keep a full log of program events over a 5 minute deployment where I anticipate events will be happening every 5-10 seconds. We haven't actually recieved our board yet so I haven't had a chance to play with it, nor do I have any experience with anything similar...

Any help anybody could provide would be greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

Thanks!

No idea until you specify exactly which form the message will take.

Then it is just simple arithmetic. Assuming you use the FLASH -- which is normally program memory -- Count the bytes -- determine the amount of available memory and there is your answer. Of course then you will add a program which will subtract from the flash...

But do you mean to collect the data in flash memory, the SRAM or the EPROM -- all different issues.

There are libraries for the EPROM and the FLASH and other posters here are far more knowledgeable on how to do that.

Get the Arduino Cookbook -- see Project Guidance.

It will answer every question you should have. And for about $20 -- cheaper than my rates. :grin:
http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,52154.0.html

thanks for the reply :slight_smile:

I think it should be collected in the EPROM memory because it isnt actually used in the running of the program - or am I wrong here? I'm fine with the maths but I'm just lost as to how much memory the message will take, and how much space it will consume

What's the information you want to log?

It will just be things such as sensor readings, and what the program's reply to them was..

for instance if a bump sensor hits something the motor speeds will change

"but I'm just lost as to how much memory the message will take"

You are the designer of the program -- right?

So you will decide.