Help with lookup table

Hi all, I’ve been using arduino for a while now but I’m still a novice when it comes to code, this is my first attempt to utilise a lookup table and i just can’t get my head around how to do it. Basically I’m trying to figure out how to use a lookup table for the values below (Vin being converted from adc) so that i can output a whole number to a display.

Temp; 0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20
Vin (mV) 1034, 1028, 1023, 1017, 1012, 1007, 1001, 996, 990, 985, 980, 974, 969, 963, 958, 952, 947, 941, 936, 931, 925

I understand how to convert the adc value to a voltage, I just can’t figure out how to convert the voltage into the assosciated temp value in a form that will output The nearest whole number.

I have tried searching for examples but I either can’t find exactly what I’m looking for, or i just don’t understand what I’m looking at.

Usually, a lookup table is used to get fast answers (at a cost in memory). Do you really need to do this?

I would help, but you haven't specified what should happen with Vin of 1033, 1032, 1031, 1030, 1029, 1027, 1026, 1025, 1024, etc. Also 1035 and above. Also 924 and below.

The short version is to take Vin, subtract 925, and then access a table, but the table is going to need at least 109 (110?) entries, and you are going to have to do something about Vin above 1034 and below 925.

Do you know how to initialize and use an array?

I suppose you could use a table of 21 entries and use a loop and some logic to find the closest entry and use the associated index, but this may be more than a novice task. Conceptually, your table would contain the int values 1034, 1028, 1023, ... in entries 0, 1, 2, etc. You would scan the table (looking at entries 0, 1, 2,...) looking for your Vin to be equal to the table entry (or perhaps between two table entries). When this happens, get the index of the table entry and output that index value on the display.