Help with motion activated servo please.

Hi Guys,

I’m new to Arduino and I could really use some help please.

I’m trying to make a PIR controlled Servo. I want the servo to rotate to one position when the sensor detects motion, then immediately return to it’s default position, and stay there until motion is detected again (basically like an automatic door).

So far, I have managed to get it to move to the position and back again when motion is detected, but I can’t get it to stop. So once the servo is activated, it just keeps going back and forth continuously. I have tried lots of different commands in order to make it idle between sensor activations, but nothing I have tried works.

This is my code (apologies in advance, I’m sure it’s a mess):

#include <Servo.h>

int timer = 500;
 int alarmPin = 0;
 int alarmValue = 0;
 Servo myservo;
 byte rotated = 0;

void setup () {
 Serial.begin (9600);
 pinMode(alarmPin, INPUT);
 myservo.attach(11);
 delay (20);
 }

void loop (){
 alarmValue = analogRead(alarmPin);

if ( (alarmValue > 1000) && (rotated == 0) ){
  rotation();
  rotated = 1;
 }
else if ( (alarmValue < 100) && (rotated == 1) ){
  reverotation();
  rotated = 0;
 }

delay(timer);

Serial.println (alarmValue);

delay (20);

}

void rotation() { 
    myservo.write (1200);
    delay(1000);
 }

void reverotation() {
    myservo.write (1800);
 }

Thanks

According to the servo.write() reference page

Syntax

servo.write(angle) Parameters

servo: a variable of type Servo angle: the value to write to the servo, from 0 to 180

Can you see where your code differs from this ? Fix that first then tell us what happens. Try putting some Serial.prints into your program so that you know which sections it is executing and the value of variables at the time

Can you see where your code differs from this ?

It doesn't need fixing. Read the source.

AWOL:

Can you see where your code differs from this ?

It doesn't need fixing. Read the source.