Help with Multiple LED Project for Hockey

Hello, I'm a total newbie to this site as well as programming in general. There is definitely a lot of useful info on here. I've checked out some of the information regarding timers involving LEDs, but I haven't found anything that answered what I'm looking to do. I recently bought a table hockey game, and I want to simulate what happens at an actual hockey game.

Would it be easier to use a breadboard or just the Arduino for this project? I apologize for not being very knowledgeable in this subject matter. In terms of lights, I only plan on using one green LED and one red LED for this project. Basically, I want to have a green LED be off for 180 seconds and then turn on for 5 seconds to simulate the end of a period, and then turn off. I'd plan on pressing reset at the end of the period to start the next period. When a goal is scored, how could I press a button on the breadboard to make the red LED turn on for 5 seconds and then turn back off, and not interrupt the 180 second timer for the green LED? Any help for developing this code would be greatly appreciated, and I apologize if I have offended anyone with this post for my lack of experience.

Your best friend in this case is the millis() function of the Arduino version of C. When you call millis(), it returns the number of milliseconds elapsed since the program began. This number can go up pretty fast, so you must declare any variables involved with the timing as unsigned long (i.e, 32 bit positive numbers).

OK, so how do you turn on an LED for 3 minutes? That's 180 seconds, or 180,000 milliseconds. (My how time flies!)

So here's a little pseudocode.

void loop()

If (button pressed)
{
later = millis() + 180000;
digitalWrite(redLEDPin, HIGH); //means you have this pin operating the red LED
}

if (millis() > later) digitalWrite(redLEDPin, LOW);

}//loop

what you ask is very easy and sounds like a great beginner project.