Help with phototransistor

I'm trying to hook up a phototransistor to my arduino and have my arduino tell me the values. The general goal is to have the arduino add +1 to a list whenever there is no IR light hitting the transistor (something passes between an IR emitter and the phototransistor) . However I have little knowledge of coding and online tutorials haven't been of any help, does anybody have any idea how I could do this or know of a good, simple tutorial where I can see?

What do you mean, "a list"?

a list as in how many times the signal between the IR emissor and phototransistor has been interruped

pinMode(yourInputPin, INPUT); Assuming an NPN phototransistor...

• Collector of transistor to yourInputPin - and to +5V via a 4K7 resistor
  • Emitter to 0V
  • Base left open circuit
  • readDigital(yourInputPin)

• If yourInputPin state changes to LOW - means the transistor is 'exposed'

• If yourInputPin state changes to HIGH - means the transistor is 'dark'

Use these to maintain a 'counter' variable - not a 'list'... unless you're planning to measure something else wrt the time between light/darkevents.

This should be enough to get you thinking in the right direction. Once you get past this - in some cases, you could lose the 4K7, and use pinMode(yourInputPin, INPUT_PULLUP);

Thanks for the help, I got going but now i'm stumped again, I'm actually using a 2 pronged photoresistor (the one that looks like a black LED). I coded an IF statement sketch and tested it, but the counter just goes up forever and does not take into account if the photoresistor is receiving light or not.

This is the code I came up with. int photoTran = A1; int reading = 0; int otro = 0;

void setup(){ pinMode(photoTran,INPUT); Serial.begin(9600); }

void loop(){ reading = analogRead(photoTran); if (reading == HIGH) { Serial.print(photoTran); Serial.print(" "); delay(1000); photoTran = photoTran + 1; } else {

} }