Help with PID via encoder and PWM

Hi all,

I’m trying to use PID to regulate the speed of a DC motor (http://www.pololu.com/catalog/product/1444). The motor has a 64-count quadrature encoder attached. The Arduino is connected to a Sabertooth 2x10 which connects to the motor. The motor is controlled by PWM signals from the Arduino.

My plan is to figure out how fast the motor is turning using the encoder and feed that to the PID library as the input value (http://playground.arduino.cc/Code/PIDLibrary). I am new to programming and I am having trouble figuring out how fast the motor is turning. Here is my code:

#include <PID_v1.h>

int encodera=52;
 int encoderb=50;
 int encoderpos=0;
 int encoderacur;
 int encoderalast=LOW;
 unsigned long timestart=0;
 unsigned long timeend;

void setup()
 {
   pinMode(encodera,INPUT);
   pinMode(encoderb,INPUT);
   Serial.begin(9600);

}

void loop()
 {
if (timestart=0)
{
   timestart=millis();   
}
if (encoderpos<100)
{

encoderacur = digitalRead(encodera);
if ((encoderacur==HIGH)&&(encoderalast==LOW))
  {
  if (digitalRead(encoderb)==LOW)
  {
    encoderpos--;
  }
  else
  {
    encoderpos++;
  }

//Serial.print("-{");
 //Serial.print(encoderpos);
 //Serial.print("}");
  encoderalast=HIGH;
  }
encoderalast=encoderacur;
}
else
{
  timeend=millis();
  encoderpos=0;
  Serial.print("-[speed rpm ");
  Serial.print(30000/(timeend-timestart));
  Serial.print("]");
  timestart=0;
}
 }

Specifically, the terminal window shows that my motor starts at 23 RPM and gradually slows to 0 RPM. The motor is definitely not stopping, and it does not sound like it is even slowing down. Can any one tell what my problem might be?

Is there a better way to implement PID than what I am attempting?

If there is code available that does what I’m trying to accomplish, I couldn’t find it, but it would be great if you could link me to it.

Any help is greatly appreciated and I would be glad to supply any details I may have missed.

Thank you