Help With Powering/Wiring of a CNC-Style Setup

Hi there,

I've been researching for a couple weeks and this is my setup:

My questions are, 1) What should my power supply be if I want to power the Stepper Motors and RC Servo from the Shield (with a separate power supply) and the camera and Arduino through USB? 2) Is the 1.3A Stepper Motor too high for the 1.2A current limit for the motorshield? 3) Should I get heat sinks and where should I put them?

I'm new to Arduino but I'm building this for a project for work. Any help would be incredibly appreciated.

Those motor shields are far from ideal for driving stepper motors. You should consider an "proper" stepper motor driver board such as the Pololu A4988 or the Sparkfun BigEasydriver. To get good performance from a stepper motor you need to drive it with a high voltage and the proper stepper motor drivers can limit the current in the motor coils so that the high voltage does not over load them.

With the motor shield you will be limited to the voltage determined by ohms law. The datasheet referred to by Amazon says the current is 1.3A and the resistance is 2.5Ohms. That implies a voltage of 3.25v, not 12 volts. It will perform very poorly at 3.25v.

With an A4988 driver board you can drive it with up to 35 volts.

You will have to decide how you are going to drive your stepper motors before you can decide on a power supply. The servos will also need their own power supply - about 1 amp per servo at a voltage of 4.8 to 6v. That voltage is not going to be high enough for the stepper motors which will probably need at least 12v - but DO NOT give them 12v with the motor shield.

...R

Robin,

Thank you so much for the specifics - I realize now why that motor shield should not be used for this project. I am looking into getting a different motor shield, like the ones you recommend.

I have only a couple follow up questions: 1) Can I stack two of the Pololus so that I can control two steppers?