Help with random blink, etc

OK, so I'm REALLY new to arduino and could use a little beginner help.

What I want to do is have an on/off switch that will blink a handful of LEDs as long as it's in the ON position but if in the off position the LEDs would default to other switches. Some of those LEDs will blink at a given rate and some will just be controlled as ON/OFF with their respective switches.

So, in my primitive logic I see it as follows.

If SW1=I then LED1 random flash. If SW1=I then LED2 random flash. If SW1=I then LED3 random flash. If SW1=I then LED4 random flash. If SW1=I then LED5 random flash. If SW1=I then LED6 random flash. If SW1=I then LED7 random flash. If SW1=I then LED8 random flash. If SW1=I then LED9 random flash.

Else

If SW2=I then LED1 flash 500,500 Else LED2=O If SW3=I then LED3 flash 500,500 Else LED3=O If SW4=I then LED4 flash 500,500 Else LED4=O If SW5=I then LED5 flash 500,500 Else LED5=O If SW6=I then LED6=I Else LED6=O If SW7=I then LED7=I Else LED7=O If SW8=I then LED8 flash 500,500 Else LED8=O If SW9=I then LED9=I Else LED9=O

How would I code this? Any help is appreciated.

If you're a total beginner, have you looked at this tutorial page?

In particular, look at the one on how to read a switch and then how to blink an led without using delay. That should get you off to a good start.

You would almost certainly benefit from using arrays to house all those pesky pin numbers, but that might be Mark II.

Thanks. I have read a lot of the tutorials and sample codes but I was hoping to shave some edge off the learning curve. Mostly, it's the random blinking I'm worried about combined with how to code to default to the on/off switches if the master switch is off.

I guess what I'm hoping for is an angel.

Last night I put together the code I thought would work and ran the analyzer. It had so many errors that I have no idea how to do what I want to do.

Any help, even if it's pointing me to similar code, would be appreciated.