Help with Relay coding

Hi

I am completely new to the arduino and I'm currently writing a relay code that will ask for what pin I want set to high or low and then input the high or low. However, the program is not running that way. None of the pins go high or low. Here is the code:

void setup() { Serial.begin(9600); pinMode(10, OUTPUT); pinMode(11, OUTPUT); pinMode(12, OUTPUT); }

void loop() { if (Serial.available() > 0) { Serial.print("Enter Switch Letter:"); char id = Serial.read(); switch(id) { case 'X': { Serial.print("Enter Value for X:"); char incoming = Serial.read(); if (incoming == 'a') { digitalWrite(10, HIGH); Serial.println("On"); } else if (incoming == 'b') { digitalWrite(10, LOW); Serial.println("Off"); } } break; case 'Y': { Serial.print("Enter Value for Y:"); char incoming = Serial.read();

if (incoming == 'a') { digitalWrite(11, HIGH); Serial.println("On"); } else if (incoming == 'b') { digitalWrite(11, LOW); Serial.println("Off"); } } break; case 'Z': { Serial.print("Enter Value for Z:");

char incoming = Serial.read();

if (incoming == 'a') { digitalWrite(12, HIGH); Serial.println("On"); } else if (incoming == 'b') { digitalWrite(12, LOW); Serial.println("Off"); } } break; case '4':

break; case '5':

break; case '6':

break; default: break; }

} }

Any advise on what I can do?

Thanks

You need two characters so you should put another Serial.available() before the second read or test for Serial.available()>1 the first time.

If there is data to be read from the serial port, you post a prompt. Otherwise, you do not. Isn’t that backwards?

Posting a prompt does not cause the Arduino to wait for a reply, which your code expects to have happen.