Help with rigol oscilloscope

Hi,

I have been fighting with an issue that I think I have pinned down to EMI from a pump causing a Shift Register to reset. Here is the background (opto isolator - Shift Register output to Relays - Electrical Engineering Stack Exchange). I'm just learning but I find this stuff fascinating so I bought a new Rigol Oscilloscope and have been watching a bunch of youtube videos \ tutorials on how to use it. EMI seems like a tricky thing to detect though, so if anyone has any tips or books \ guides that could help me troubleshoot it, it would be most appreciated.

Or even any ideas on how I could reduce the EMI coming over the lines. I have tried physical separation, bypass capacitors (.1 uf and 47uf), shielded twisted pair...

Thanks

You could add chokes (inductors) or better yet a low pass LRC filter.

To monitor with the oscilliscope, set one channel to trigger on a change in the shift register and the other channel to monitor the power (or ground) lines of the shift register IC

What model Rigol scope did you get?

Just the entry level 50Mhz one DS1052E.

@wanderson: When I get home I will give that a try on the scope. I will do some reading on inductors and LRC filters too.

Thanks

Not to sell you more equipment, but a logic analyzer is a better tool for what you are trying to accomplish here.

Oh no not more toys! I actually looked at those first but doesn't that just let you analyze the data to and from the shift register?

I just did some testing and I managed to reproduce a 500mv-1V spike (sometimes it was a drop) on both the 5V rail and one of the output pins from the shift register when I turn the pump on and off. It happened every 3 or 4 attempts. That's the problem right? Would that type of spike make the shift register trip out and act weird?