Help with selecting which Arduino to buy to help send water quality remotely

Hello,

I am working on a project where I am trying to hook up 4 probes (EC, DO, pH, and temperature) to an arduino to help my hydroponic garden which is located in my neighboring greenhouse. Now I want these results to be able to be sent directly to my phone/ computer, for remote monitoring. While I have wifi in my house, I noticed that my wifi signal is super weak in my greenhouse. I was originally going to buy the Arduino Yun but I am thinking it may be better the buy the UNO and then attach a wifi and/or bluetooth connector to it. I am new to Arduinos and I would love any help!

Thanks, Matt

You may be better choosing the nRF2401 series of radios - much greater range..

Allan

It would help if you explained “neighbouring” better. Adding WiFi to a Uno is not likely to fix anything a Yun can’t do, but some work on antennae, or simply using a WiFi repeater, may be a solution. You may find bluetooth OK if you can use BT4, as it has much more range than plain-vanilla BT2. The NRF24 is a pretty silly solution as, while high power versions probably have the range, it adds unnecessary complication.

Hi, Welcome to the forum.

Please read the first post in any forum entitled how to use this forum. http://forum.arduino.cc/index.php/topic,148850.0.html

What are the specs/output protocol of your sensors?

Tom... :)

Nick_Pyner: It would help if you explained "neighbouring" better. Adding WiFi to a Uno is not likely to fix anything a Yun can't do, but some work on antennae, or simply using a WiFi repeater, may be a solution. You may find bluetooth OK if you can use BT4, as it has much more range than plain-vanilla BT2. The NRF24 is a pretty silly solution as, while high power versions probably have the range, it adds unnecessary complication.

Hi Nick,