Help With Sensor/Trigger Multi Audio Files

Hi - I am a visual artist with an installation strategy/need… I am hoping to use Arduino and related hardware to trigger a collection of 16 or so discreet audio files from a (16) push button panel. Each individual sound file would be triggered on/off from each push-button, and playback would be routed to (16) individual speakers. Any advice on hardware or patches/scripts, etc. would be helpful. Thank you!

Will more than one sound play at a time ?

Is The Arduino connected to a PC ?

Yes - all sounds would playback either individually or simultaneously in any combination. The sound for each channel would be in a looping buffer of some kind - the buttons are on/off switches to trigger audible signal from each indep. spkr.

Arduino can be connected to a PC - at least I assume it will need one for this?

You are prety much describing the most basic operation of a monome www.monome.org.

Of course the monome can also do a LOT more, but your project is where most people start.

The question though is can you do it more cheaply (I’m guessing - you didn’t provide a budget, but lets face it, 99% of the time it’s “as cheap as possible”)

Since you can connect it to a PC, I’d just use a simple sketch with 16 buttons connected to the arduino. This leaves you enough pins for a serial connection back to the PC. On the PC side, you’d need to use software like processing,max/msp etc (I’m not an audio geek) to play the sounds corresponding to each button.

Ofcourse you could make it more complicated/neater by using input shift registers, but from your questions it sounds like the simplest would be the best way to go.

Thanks trialex - I am familiar with monome, but want to create my own button panel using simple circular buttons like those used in doorbells… so I’ll need to wire the buttons to the i/o device.

Cool.

So… have you read the button tutorials on this and ladyada’s website?