Help with servo project

Hello,

I recently started a project where I will have to use and Arduino Micro to control a servo. But being a complete noob, after setting up a circuit for the servo, the servo doesn't seem to move after I compile and upload the example sweep program. I also made sure the correct board and serial port are selected. Did I forget to set anything in the program?

I took a couple of pictures of the circuit: http://imagizer.imageshack.us/a/img856/738/yn2a.jpg http://imagizer.imageshack.us/a/img21/3500/ibqb.jpg

Thanks in advance for the help guys, and sorry if the question was too stupid.

Questions are never stupid, as they show the willingness to learn.

Can the Arduino deliver the power the servo's need? otherwise you must use a (power) transistor and a separate power supply for the servo's. In fact that is always a good idea.

Furthermore you can measure the signal with a multimeter (mandatory tool!) to check.

I hate to take issue with @robtillart, but there is no need for power transistors with a servo.

You do need to have a separate power supply for the servo as the Arduino can’t supply enough current unless the servo is very small AND has no load on it. If the servo draws too much power the Arduino will behave erratically which will probably appear like a software problem. Safest thing is to use a separate power supply. Just remember to connect the Arduino ground to the servo ground.

I can’t figure from your photos how things are connected. Can you post a photo of a clear drawing of all the connections.

…R

A way to externally wire power to a servo.

Hey guys,

I don’t know if I changed anything but now I got it to work, thanks for the help!