Help with simple project

Hello

I am new to anything like this and was hoping i could get some help with a project im working on. I want to build a setup for a motorcycle that would turn on lights depending on lean angle (lets say 22.5 degrees in either direction for an example). With some of the research i have been doing i think the arduino 101 would be the board i would want since it has built in accelerometer and gyro but i could be completely wrong. any help i could get with what i would need for parts, coding and anything else would be greatly appreciated. i know this is probably a very simple setup to a lot of you but i am lost

Thanks

I don't think this is at all simple. The bike may not only be leaning, but accelerating or braking, and going up or down hills , cornering either way , the road may not be level, and the bike may be hitting potholes..

Anybody done this? It sounds harder than an artificial horizon / turn and slip indicator for an aircraft, which I'm working on....

regards

Allan.

I don’t want to be discouraging in the long run, but this is not at all a “simple setup”.

It might surprise you that in fact, it is an extremely challenging project to use a sensor to detect the lean angle of a motorcycle.

It is a project that simply cannot be undertaken by beginners. This has to do with the physics of motion and the problems associated with the available sensors.

Fortunately or unfortunately, it is also a popular subject and if you google the topic, i.e. “detect motorcycle lean angle” you will discover the long discussion threads about the various problems people have encountered.

Use a flight controller from a quadcopter. (CHEAP) These all have serial outputs for a master PC to set up defaults. Use this serial port to another Arduino, decode the lean and map that to your lights. Done.

-jim lee

jimLee: