Help with small proyect

Hi, im a complete beginer with arduino and making things like this, well um my problem is im a highschool student and my project is i need to use or make something to control the lights in the house but i know nothing of the materials or the steps to make this I know it requieres C,C# and maybe html and java that i do know i but well as you can see i could really use some guidance on where to start o a link to page with a guide o tutorial on how to make this so i can start learing how to make this project

Can you be more specific about your project objective "control lights" is pretty vague . (control how ? when ?)

yeah sorry umm using my pc or an iphone so that i can turn the lights of my house on or off with a press of a button. i dont know if im making myself clear

Were you planning on re-wring your light switches?

If you are thinking about controlling lamps, etc. Belkin's WeMo home automation product is already available. http://www.belkin.com/us/Products/home-automation/c/wemo-home-automation/ You can turn the lamp on/off with your smartphone.

Yes i am because my teacher wants me to also rewire the classroom lights so he can turn them on with his pc or iphone or ipad, so yeah i have i think ill have to rewire the lights.

I know you are only in HS but have you heard of Google yet ?

yeah sorry umm using my pc or an iphone so that i can turn the lights of my house on or off with a press of a button. i dont know if im making myself clear] yeah sorry umm using my pc or an iphone so that i can turn the lights of my house on or off with a press of a button. i dont know if im making myself clear

How about doing us a favor and taking a break from the forum while you research your project with Google. Look up Solid State Relays 220 vac/10A