help with software serial

Good afternoon everyone!

Let me preface by saying I have never used SoftwareSerial before. I looked at a bunch of examples and have tried to adapt the example provided by arduino. I am attempting to communicate with a fiber optic micrometer whose API lists the following:

General command information:
The DMS command line interface uses command strings with “label value” pairs to send and receive configuration and target data. All commands sent to the sensor are prefixed with a forward slash character ‘/’ (ASCII 47) and terminated with a line feed (ASCII 10) or carriage return (ASCII 13). Responses from the sensor are terminated with a line feed. Commands and labels are case sensitive.
Default terminal RS-232 configuration:
Format :8bits, no parity, 1 stop bit
Flow Control :none
Default speed :19.2Kbps
USB Virtual Com port configuration:
Format :8bits, no parity, 1 stop bit
Flow Control :none
Default speed muDMS 250Kbps
microDMS 1Mbps
Note: FTDI USB driver is included in Windows 10. Installer can be downloaded from www.ftdichip.com if needed.
Quick Start using terminal program:

1. Attach power (+12VDC nominal, 7-24V) and RS-232/USB cable.
  2. Use a terminal program to connect to the com port (see configuration above)
    Note: Any application that can communicate with the com ports should work.
  3. Apply power to sensor. Sensor will send a boot message.
  4. Send “/idn?” + LF (ASCII 10). Sensor will respond with model and serial information.

I purchased : RS232 Serial Port to TTL

and have wired VCC to 3.3 first to try it and then later to 5V (didnt seem to make a difference)
Wired the ground to Ground and rx/tx to pins 10 and 11 (have swapped them to make sure)

here is the latest iteration of the code :

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
byte idn="/idn?";
SoftwareSerial mySerial(10, 11); // RX, TX

void setup() {
// Open serial communications and wait for port to open:
Serial.begin(57600);
while (!Serial) {