help with standalone arduino clone: programmer not responding

Hi all, newbie here so apologies if my questions are trivial.

Basically, I am trying to make a standalone Arduino clone that combines capabilities from different shields into one board. The board is supposed to have XBee connectivity, along with capability to use Li-Po battery via self-charging circuit, while also displaying battery levels. Namely, the schematics I am referencing to are the following:

SparkFun USB to Serial Breakout - FT232RL - BOB-12731 - SparkFun Electronics (FT232RL for the USB-to-Serial communication)
https://www.sparkfun.com/products/12847 (for XBee capability)
SparkFun LiPower Shield - DEV-13158 - SparkFun Electronics (for lipo battery charging and power)

For the MCU, I have taken the Atmega 328P straight from an Arduino Uno so I believe bootloader uploading/editing is no longer necessary. I then connected with the FT232RL via a similar schematic to this tutorial: Arduino - Setting up an Arduino on a breadboard. Also following the tutorial, I instead use an SMD version of the 16MHz clock/22pf capacitor pair configuration as in the tutorial.

Power delivery is fine so far since the 5V and 3.3V power LEDs on my board are lighting up (which means power is being delivered as per my schematic). However when I try to upload a program onto it, the IDE returns the stk500_recv():programmer not responding error.

My questions for this are:

1. I have read on other topics that since the Arduino Uno is using a resonator/external clock the Fuse settings would be different from using an external crystal (which my board has right now). So is this a possible cause of the issue, and that I need to reconfigure the fuse settings of the Atmega chip, or is this supposed to be still okay and there are other causes?