Help with stepper motor sketch!

Hello, i’m sort of a beginner here and need some help and advice!

My project involves two stepper motors and a strobe light.
So far i have a sketch that works (motors and strobe turning continuasly), but i would like to add a timer function (if this is possible), so that every 30 seconds, it stops for 30 seconds and then starts again?

this is the code i have so far:

#include <AFMotor.h>

AF_Stepper motor(100, 1);

int triggerPin = 13;

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
pinMode(triggerPin, OUTPUT);
Serial.println(“Stepper test!”);

motor.setSpeed(240);

}

void loop() {

digitalWrite (triggerPin, HIGH);
motor.step(5, FORWARD, DOUBLE);

motor.release();

}

Is this possible with scripting or do i need to add an external timer?

The millis() function returns the length of time since the Arduino was reset. You can use that information to toggle the state of a boolean variable. When the state is true, move the steppers and flash the strobe. When it is false, don't.

Why are you releasing the stepper in loop()?

As i said i am a beginner and to be honest don't really know what i am doing! This is a project that I started more than a year ago, where i mostly had help writing the original script which worked with three shields, a sensor, 6 motors and a strobe. I am now trying to simplify it all(without that person that originally helped me), basing myself on those old sketches, not fully remembering/understanding what it is i am doing!

Help me please!!!

i'm sorry to bother you all with this but, i don't really know where to turn and i need to get this up and running by thursday!

Add this before setup:

unsigned long lastRun = 0;
unsigned long runTime = 30000UL;
boolean running = true;

In loop(), add this at the top:

unsigned long timeNow = millis();
if(timeNow - lastRun > runTime)
{
   running = !running;
   lastRun = timeNow;
}

if(running)
{

Add this to the bottom of loop():

}