Help with TCS3471 Color Sensor I'm a noob.

Hi, I´m new in the world of programming and robots, and I need to sense color green. I have this sensors (http://5hertz.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=12_13_153&products_id=744) but I don´t know how to program them.

I´ve seen this library from gitHub (https://github.com/raivisr/TCS3471-Arduino-Library) but still don´t get it.

How do I integrate that in my program, I just need to make a function like isGreen(); and return HIGH if green, I am not asking you to make the function and share it (I´ll appreciate if you do that) but I´m really looking forward to understand how it works

Thank you.

Look at the example in that library

It clearly shows how to determine when a colour is ready and also reads in the three colour components, red green and blue

However what you call "green" is a issue of perception and you are unlikely to ever read a colour value of RGB

I'd run the sample and look at its output for the green things you want to measure versus the non green things.

This will help you determine an algorithm to convert the RGB values to a Boolean for green items

Thank you, but what I don't understand is the interrupts, maybe that's just i2c basics but I'm really hurried because we have 4 day to finish our robot and Between the shoot and homeworks I don't have enough time to learn i2c, or dou you know an easy explanation?

I'm thinking in making a function isGreen( ) an inside the function place the example code the part that is inside of if (colorAvailable) {} and add some stuff to check if green is higher than red and blue, but I don't know is if the function readGData() returns any other thing than a Word variable, or how can I get a value from 0 to 255

Magdiel:
but I don't know is if the function readGData() returns any other thing than a Word variable, or how can I get a value from 0 to 255