Help with the operation of circuit

Hello everyone,

I’m a beginner to the awesome world of Arduino, and I’ve decided to build an 8x8x8 LED Cube (Yeah, people like me are still trying to make those ;)) I understand how the basic circuit works. However, I’d really appreciate the help of you Gurus to help me understand how the transistor arrangement works in the attached circuit diagram. I could just follow thee circuit and build one; however, I’d like to learn how it works. Hopefully, someone can help me out.

Got the circuit from 8x8x8 LED Cube PyroElectro Schematic | PyroElectro - News, Projects & Tutorials

Just like to say as a beginner a 4x4 cube is quite hard .

This might help :

https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/transistors/applications-i-switches

I would say that circuit is not sufficient for driving an 8x8x8 cube.
A cube has 64 LEDs per layer or 8 rows of 8 LEDs, and 8 layers.
They are driven by multiplexing. The most straightforward way, with brightest outcome, is to drive all 64 LEDs in one layer, enable the layer for a short time (30 Hz refresh rate with 8 layers means each layer turned on for 1/8 of 1/30 second = 4166microseconds), then turn if off and repeat for the next layer.
An alternate way is row of 8 LEDs in a layer, then the next 8, then the next 8, etc. Each group is on for 1/8 of 4166uS, or 520uS, and end result will be noticeably dimmer.

I think the best way is to use 8 TPIC6C595 or TPIC6B595 shift registers to sink current for 64 columns of LEDs, with a P-channel MOSFET to source current to each layer. Can use a 9th '595 to sink current from the P-MOSFET gates to determine which layer is on.
Use SPI.transfer() to quickly send the data out to the shift register.