Help with thermistor power filtering circuit

Hi all,

I've been tinkering with my Arduino for a while, and I'm finally starting off on a more substantial project, which includes a number of 100K thermistors (and maybe one of two 10K thermistors) for temperature sensing. I'm using the Thermistor4 library (http://playground.arduino.cc/ComponentLib/Thermistor4) which has been a massive help, and taught me a lot.

In the link above, a power filtering circuit is described. My background is mainly software, and while I'm fairly comfortable with what I'm looking at in the diagram, there are a few elements that are a little ambiguous, and I could do with a bit of assistance. I'll likely end up using a much simpler version of the circuit, but want to understand as much as possible about the reference design before beginning. For reference, here is the diagram of the circuit:

Starting with the inductor, is there a specific type of inductor I should be using? Is a simple R.F. Choke going to be suitable (e.g. http://www.maplin.co.uk/p/rf-choke-100uh-wh35q)?

With the resistor directly after the inductor, a value of "1-10" is given. Should I assume Ohms of kOhms? How important is the specific resistance in the circuit result?

Lastly, for the electrolytic capacitors, a huge range is given for appropriate capacitance values (10-47uF in one case, and 0.1-47uF in the other). Like the resistor, should I be assuming that the specific capacitance value is less important than the mere presence of the component, and just pick a value in the middle?

Thanks in advance for any help.

• Peter :)

Most of your assumptions are fairly good. The point of everything on the left side of this schematic is just to make sure you have a very clean 5V feeding the right half of the schematic. RP is 1-10 Ohms not KOhms.