help with timing

Hi,

I'm very new to Arduino, so go easy on me please :)

I'm trying to measure scale speed using two input switches and display the result to an LCD. The following code seems to work once and never again for a long time, please help :)

const int SW1 = 7;
const int SW2 = 6;

int PULSE1 = 0;
int PULSE2 = 0;

unsigned long startTime = 0;
unsigned long endTime = 0;
unsigned long timediff = 0;
unsigned long mph = 0;

void setup() {
  pinMode(SW1, INPUT);
  pinMode(SW2, INPUT);
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop() {
  PULSE1 = digitalRead(SW1);
  PULSE2 = digitalRead(SW2);

if (PULSE1 == HIGH) {
     startTime = millis();
  }

if (PULSE2 == HIGH) {
     endTime = millis();
  }

timediff = endTime - startTime;
mph = (6/timediff)*0.05682*76.2;
Serial.println("mph:");
Serial.println(mph);
}

I have left out the lcd stuff so that I can just use the serial monitor function for now.

The idea is that an object travelling past two micro-switches triggers the first switch, then after a delay triggers the next and I can then determine its speed.

many thanks

I see floating point, unsigned long, and integer in a single code line. Could you calculate the mph in float ?

float milesph = (6.0 / (float) timediff ) * 0.05682 * 76.2;
Serial.println("milesph:");
Serial.println(milesph);

The "6" is forced into "6.0" to show the compiler and you and me that is floating point. The "timediff" is cast into a floating point before doing the calculations. So everything is with floating point and the result is stored in a floating point.

Your sketch will not work, because it is printing text with every execution of "loop()". At which moment do you want to calculate the timediff ?

Thanks for your reply!

Looking at my code with a fresh pair of eyes this morning and with your advice, I could see that I had made a mess of the ‘if’ statements and nesting arrangements. I have had a search around and found some similar code which I have adapted.

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>