Help with understanding an H Bridge

I'm a relative newbie, and I'm trying to understand how this H bridge works. ( link below) I want to build it for a microelectronics project. With the current "push pull" configuration of the amplifiers, I'm wondering how the motor is supposed to receive any current. It looks as though the 12 V supply will simply short to ground... but my understanding of transistors is somewhat limited, so I'd appreciate any help at all with figuring this out. Thank You.

Link: http://homemadecircuitsandschematics.blogspot.com/2011/12/how-to-build-dual-solar-tracker-system.html

I'm not competent to comment on the internals of one of those things, but I'm curious as to why you want to build one?

Unless the assembly is in and of itself a useful learning experience for you, I'd be soooooo inclined to buy one off the shelf. There are a zillion h-bridge-on-a-chip solutions, catering for different voltage and current requirements.

(Not that I want to discourage you from the experience of building one, but the rest of the solar project looks far more interesting than getting held up soldering transistors together.)

It looks a fairly simple arrangement. T1 is an NPN and T2 is a PNP. These have a shared input to thier base. If this signal is HIGH, the NPN will conduct. If the signal is LOW then the PNP will conduct. At any time one of these will be turned on.

So the left hand side of the motor is either connected to the +ve rail of the GND (depending which of the two is conducting).

T3 and T4 use the same arrangement to supply the other side of the motor.

LDR1 and LDR2 form a voltage dividier. The output of this is compared against a separate voltage divider (created by P1-R3-P2-R4).

The voltage output from that second divider will remain stable, but the voltage at the junction of the two LDRs will vary, dependent on which of the LDRs is receiving the greater amount of light.