Help with User Input Inside of While loop

Hi,

I am new to arduino and C++.
I am using an Arduino Mega 2560 with a LCD shield, which can be found at the link below.

I am looking to power two stepper motors with the arduino while allowing user input through the LCD Shield.
I have created a menu which the user can cycle through, but my specific questions lies when using the stepper motors.

I would like to have the ability to pause the stepper motors during use if the user desires.

In the code below, I have a set up where I ask the arduino to look at analogread to get some values. Basically my question is about how does this function work. So, currently I think the arduino only looks for a value when it passes over this line of code. I was wondering if this meant that it does not see any input unless I press it at the exact time, and if it does work like this is there anyway to get around it?

More explanation of the code is below.

while ((check1  > MIN) && (pauseval < 1)) // while the time is less than the required time to finish run code
        {
         // int keyEvent = detectKey(); // sets value if key is pressed
          int     curKeyEvent  = 0;
          int     adc_key_in   = 0;

adc_key_in=analogRead(0);

curKeyEvent = get_key(adc_key_in);      // convert into key press
          // int key = curKeyEvent;
          if (curKeyEvent > 0)
        {
             int key = curKeyEvent; 
             lcd.setCursor(4,1);
             lcd.print(key);  
        }
            lcd.setCursor(0,1);
            lcd.print(curKeyEvent);

lcd.setCursor(8,1);
            digitalClockDisplay();

MIN=mins(); // continues to update MIN until it reaches check
                // step one step: 

myStepper.step(0); // needed to call step before first time or motor did not move
                  myStepper.setSpeed(60); // sets speed of motor
                  myStepper.step(-100);
                  myStepper.setSpeed(60);
                  delay(50);